Link to home

SSP Student Evergreen Awards​​​

Student oral and poster presenters are eligible for one of these three SSP Evergreen Awards. These awards are presented during the SSP Conference.

Award for Outstanding Presentation on Use of Scientific Principles

Honoring Jean F. Caul
Donor: The Wolf Group

Jean Caul's role in sensory evaluation is inestimable. ASTM Committee E-18 on Sensory Evaluation named Jean a "Pioneer" of the field and awarded her one of the first Peryam Awards. She wrote and published the first definitive article on descriptive sensory analysis—the flavor profile method, which served as a foundation for a myriad of descriptive methods. Her advocacy of descriptive sensory analysis, her early use of consumer testing, and, along with other pioneers, her absolute commitment to the use of near perfection in the application of good scientific principles in planning, conducting, analyzing, and interpreting data from sensory studies set the standard for test execution that allows sensory analysis to be a respected research tool.


​2022: Audrey (Chia Yu)​ Kuei

2020: Brittany Miles 

2018: Sara Burns 

2016: Will Harwood 

2014: Nadia Byrnes 

2012: Bangde Li 

2010: Dominique Sinopoli 

2008: Michael Nestrud

Award for Outstanding Presentation that Develops or Expands a Method

Honoring Beverley Kroll
Donor: P&K Research

Beverley J. Kroll co-founded Peryam & Kroll Research in 1957 and was among the first to apply sensory and consumer testing methods to new product development. In the days when women executives were rare, Bev’s business acumen helped establish P&K Research as a leader in the field of sensory and market research, contributing to the new product successes of many of the world’s leading consumer packaged goods companies.  Bev devoted time and her company’s resources to fostering sensory and consumer science. P&K Research was a Founding Sponsor of the Society of Sensory Professionals and is one of its Lifetime Patrons. In her honor, SSP bestows the award for Outstanding Presentation that Develops or Expands a Method to a student at its biyearly conference. In 1995, Bev helped establish the David R. Peryam Award, granted by ASTM International Committee E18, which recognizes outstanding professionals in the applied sensory science field. Throughout her life, Bev was active in Chicago-area community organizations and a generous contributor to charitable causes, extending her legacy.  


2022: Kym Man

2020: Thadeus Beekman

2018: Weilun Tsai 

2016: Rebecca Liu 

2014: Sara Carlisle 

2012: Alissa Allen 

2010: Thierry Worch 

2008: Carrita Hightower


Award for Outstanding Presentation on an Applied Topic

Honoring Elaine Skinner
Donor: Sensory Spectrum, Inc.

Elaine Zlobick Skinner pioneered strategic sensory influence in a business environment and developed a strong business sensory model at General Foods. During her almost 40 years at General Foods she brought strong analytical and business skills to R&D, marketing, and operations projects that needed sensory input. Elaine's characteristic openness to new ideas, new methods, different approaches, and rational arguments made her a valuable team member across the company. However, Elaine's greatest asset was her mentoring skills, which created a rich environment for growth for the sensory scientists, psychophysicists, and statisticians that worked for her. Her legacy is the concept of strong sensory scientists as part of strategic teams in business providing insights on product evaluation and consumer research.


2022: Megan Watson​

2020: Min Sung Kim

2018: Mackenzie Hannum 

2016: Megan Parker

2014: Karolina Sanchez 

2012: Cecile Bavay 

2010: Lydia Rice 

2008: Tristin Brisbois Clarkson